Sean came home to find Roxie crying on the toilet, eating ice cream. He sighed and pulled her up. “Are you sure that’s good for the kid?” he asked.

“Why do you care?” Roxie snapped. Sean shrugged. He did care. He may not love Roxie, but he did care about her. He cared about the baby, whether it was his or not. It was still a baby.

“I just do. I don’t really know what to do, but I know you crying all the time is bad for the kid, so I want to make sure you’re not sad. So… you know, just relax, okay? I’m not kicking you out. I was going to, but things are kind of different now.”

“We’re not going to work out, Sean. Neither of us want this life and all these responsibilities.”

“I know. I’m not saying we’re going to be together forever or get married or any of that crap. I’m just saying I’m going to take care of you while you’re pregnant. After the kid’s born, well… we’ll figure out what to do with it and ourselves,” he shrugged. Roxie gave a wry smile.

“You almost sound selfless… almost,” she muttered. Sean just shrugged and held her hands.

“I’m trying, okay? I know I’m doing a shitty job, but I’m trying, so just… bear with me until I figure all this shit out,” he sighed. Roxie nodded and looked down at the ground.

“Sean… I’m scared.”

“Yeah, me too,” Sean admitted.

Sean had been planning on buying a new treadmill to use at home to help him with his job, but that plan got thrown out the window as soon as Roxie told him she was pregnant. Sean hated having to give up things that he wanted to provide for someone else. He wasn’t used to sacrificing his own happiness for the sake of others, but Roxie was so depressed all the time these days. The doctor said she could lose the baby if she didn’t take care of herself emotionally, and despite not wanting the responsibility of parenthood, he didn’t want anything bad to happen to the baby, either. It wasn’t the baby’s fault it was being born to parents who didn’t want it.

That’s why Sean started putting in extra hours at work, and giving up his free time to make more money. He wanted to do something to make Roxie smile again. He wanted her and the baby to be okay, and he soon discovered that he actually liked having Roxie around most of the time and wanted to show her that somehow.

“Sean, what’s going on? Why are you covering my eyes?” Roxie demanded, while Sean helped her into the house. He just grinned.

“Relax, you’ll like this. I busted my hump to have this done, so just appreciate it alright?” he begged. He led her into a brand new room he had built. It had pale yellow wallpaper and a nice little window. There wasn’t much in it, but there was a cream-coloured baby pram and a few toys. He took his hands off of Roxie’s eyes and Roxie’s eyes widened.

“You… you made a bedroom for the baby…” she whispered.

“Yeah, you know… I figured the kid needed it’s own space, you know?” he shrugged, a little embarrassed. These kind of sweet gestures normally weren’t his style.

“But if you built a bedroom, does that mean you want us to stay?” she asked hesitantly. “You want me and the baby to stay with you?”

“Well, yeah that was kind of the idea… maybe not forever. I mean, who knows if we’ll work out or not, you know, but we might as well give it a shot, right?” he mumbled awkwardly. Roxie put her arms around him and hugged him tightly.

“Just when I start thinking you’re nothing but a complete dick, you go and do something sweet like this,” she laughed weakly. Sean hugged her back, an unfamiliar warm feeling settling in his chest.

Soon, Sean had earned enough money to build a bedroom for themselves, too, and their little shack started to look a bit more like a house. As Roxie’s belly grew, so did Sean’s interest in the baby. Who knew feeling a baby kick could be so cool, if not a little freaky? Sometimes, he even thought he could hear the baby inside Roxie’s belly, though Roxie would tell him that was ridiculous. It still made her laugh every time he put his ear to her belly, though.

“I don’t know if I should go to work today,” Sean commented. Roxie’s belly was now huge. She could go into labour at any second and would have no way of getting to a hospital on her own. Roxie grinned.

“Aww, you care about little ol’ me. How sweet,” she teased. Sean went red and mumbled something about women being so emotional when he noticed there was a puddle forming underneath her.

“Uh, hun? You’re er… leaking,” he pointed out. Roxie looked down and gasped.

“Shit! My water broke!” as if on cue, a contraction hit and she winced, grabbing her bulging belly. “Owwww…” she moaned.

“I’ll take you to the hospital,” Sean blurted, ushering her out of the house. His heart was hammering so hard against his chest, he thought it might explode. This was really happening. He was really going to be a dad now. Roxie cried and leaned against him on the way to the hospital.

“I’m not ready to be a mom,” she whimpered. Sean said nothing. He just held her tight. He didn’t know what to say.

A few hours later, Roxie walked out of the hospital carrying a baby boy… followed by Sean, who was carrying a baby girl. Stephan and Sarah Coin. Twins.

The shocked and terrified parents picked up another baby pram on the way home and numbly settled their children into their bedding once they got home. Sean squeezed Roxie’s hand. “Hey… it’ll be okay. Two’s not so bad. There’s two of us, right? We can handle it,” he mumbled weakly. Roxie just nodded silently, her eyes still worried. Sarah hiccoughed and gurgled and Roxie gave a small smile.

“They’re cute, aren’t they?” she asked. Sean laughed.

“Of course they’re cute. They’re my kids, aren’t they?” he boasted, which earned him a swift kick in the shins.

