Screenshot-1738

Katie sighed to herself. She still hadn’t told Parker about her age or her bad habit of stealing. Since marrying him, she’d been keeping her urge in check, but occasionally she couldn’t help but swipe a small thing or two from the places she visited when she went out. She also hadn’t told him something else. For the last little while, Katie had been wanting to have another child with Parker. She loved Marina so much and wanted another little baby to grow her family. She wanted Marina to have a little sister or brother. She knew it was wrong to ask him for another child without telling him her secret, first, but she was so afraid of him leaving her.

“Mama… hungwee…” Marina whined, reaching her arms up for her mother. Katie sighed and picked up her daughter, carrying her to her high chair in the kitchen to feed her.

“Hey there! How are my beautiful girls today?” Parker asked, smiling as he got home from roaming the park for interviewees. He walked over to Katie and kissed her, then bent down to kiss his daughter who squealed with delight at seeing her father.

“Dada has funny hat!” she declared, pointing at Parker’s head. Katie laughed and nodded.

Screenshot-1710

“He sure does. Your daddy’s a big shot reporter, Sweetie,” she told Marina.

“Not yet. I’m just a Professional Blog Writer, but I’m working on it. I just finished a new interview today. I’m going upstairs to write the article on her now.” Parker kissed his wife once more before heading upstairs to the study. Katie watched him go with a worried expression.

How can I tell him? she thought to herself. She shook her head and frowned. Katie, you have to do it. You’ve been keeping this from him for five years and it’s eating you up inside. Just tell him tonight and get it over with. If he really loves you, he won’t leave without trying to work things out, first.

“I’m so tired,” Parker yawned, snuggling close to his wife in bed that night. “Being a blog writer is harder than I thought it would be. As much as I love saving up money for the family and the feeling of getting promotions, I wish I could just make my living by sitting on the couch, watching television all day,” he chuckled.Maybe I should start blogging about television shows, instead. I can get promotions and money and still sit on my butt all day.” Katie gave a nervous chuckle, trying to prepare herself to tell her husband. Parker sensed his wife’s stress and sat up. “What’s wrong?” he asked her.

Screenshot-1733

“Parker… do you love me? No matter what?” she asked timidly, her eyes filling with tears. Parker pulled her close and kissed her.

“Of course. You and Marina are the most important people in my life. You know that,” he murmured softly. Katie took a deep breath and fished a small piece of paper out from the drawer in her nightstand, handing it to Parker with shaking hands. “What’s this?” he asked.

“My birth certificate,” Katie muttered, looking away in shame. Parker scanned over it and frowned.

“Honey, they made a mistake on here. This says you were born in 1973. That would make you thirty-six,” he laughed. Katie sunk lower in her bed.

“It’s not a mistake, Parker,” she whispered. “I was born on September 14th, 1973. I’m not twenty-five like I’ve been telling you…” Parker dropped the certificate as if it had shocked him and shot a shocked look at his wife.

“Why did you lie to me? You’ve been lying to me for five years!” he exclaimed, his tone angry. Katie started to cry.

“I’m sorry… when I first said that back when I worked for your family, I didn’t think that I would end up falling in love with you. I originally said I was nineteen back then, because no one wants to hire old, ugly maids. When we started dating, I just couldn’t tell you that I’d been lying about my age before you’d even had the chance to get to know me. Once you did and you told me you loved me, I was so afraid you’d leave me once you found out that I’d been lying to you… but that’s not all of it…”

Screenshot-1736

“There’s more?” Parker nearly shouted. “What else haven’t you told me? Do you have another family on the side or something?” Katie shook her head.

“No, but… I have a tendency to steal things,” she admitted. “I’ve had this problem for as long as I can remember. I used to steal pencil cases and markers from school, then I’d steal things from the houses I cleaned… but I never stole anything from your family, Parker, I swear! I love your family far too much to ever steal from you. I always have. Your mother was always so kind to me and treated me like family. I could never hurt her.” Parker didn’t seem impressed with this.

“So you’re twelve years older than me, a thief and a liar?” he snapped. “It’s like you’re not the same woman I married!”

“Parker, please!” Katie wept, reaching out for him, but Parker recoiled and leapt out of bed.

Screenshot-1735

“I can’t believe I married and had a child with someone I don’t even know!” he yelled, storming out of the room.

“Where are you going?” Katie called after him.

“To sleep on the couch! I can’t even look at you right now!”

