screenshot

Candle In The Wind (Adapted from Elton John’s version for Marilyn Monroe)

Goodbye, Marylee,

I feel so blessed to have known you at all.

You had the grace to hold yourself, while those around you crawled.

They crawled out of the woodwork

And they whispered into your brain

They put you on a pedestal and threw stones at you in vain.

And it seems to me you lived your life

Like a candle in the wind.

Never knowing who to cling to when the rain set in.

And I feel so blessed to have known you

We all loved your self-will.

Your candle burned out long before your legend ever will.

Stardom was tough; the toughest role you ever played

Sunset Valley created a superstar

And pain was the price you paid.

Even when you died

Oh the press still hounded you.

All the papers had to say

Was that it was gruesome and true.

And it seems to me you lived your life

Like a candle in the wind.

Never knowing who to cling to when the rain set in.

And I feel so blessed to have known you,

We all loved your self-will.

Your candle burned out long before your legend ever will.

Goodbye, Marylee.

I feel so blessed to have known you at all.

You had the grace to hold yourself

While those around you crawled.

Goodbye, Marylee.

From the readers all over the world

Who see you as more than pixels.

More than just another Sim.

And it seems to me you lived your life

Like a candle in the wind.

Never knowing who to cling to when the rain set in.

And I feel so blessed to have known you.

We all loved your self-will.

Your candle burned out long before your legend ever will.

Your candle burned out long before your legend ever will…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Hi. This is Mandy Charm. Most of you probably know who I am from following my family’s story, but if you don’t, I’m Marylee’s daughter. I was chosen to speak today at her tribute as the heiress of the Charm family and I accepted the honour, as painful as it is to speak at such an event.

My mom was an amazing person. When she first came to Sunset Valley, she had little more than a dream to be rich and famous. Life was hard for her; she was homeless for a long time. My dad used to always tell us kids stories of him letting her stay at his house to make sure she was safe. That’s just the kind of guy my dad is, and he loved my mom so much.

It wasn’t easy for her. She struggled and toiled through much of her life. My older sister was born into poverty and my mother did her best to provide for her. I don’t think I’ll ever know what it’s like to live in such poverty, thanks to my mother. She and my dad worked so hard to provide for us and growing up, my sister and I had everything we needed. Toys, desks, dressers, our own rooms, books… all because of our parents, but my dad still insists to this day that it was all my mother’s doing.

My mom gave up a lot of the glamourous life she dreamed of to raise her family and I thank her every day for it. Once my sister and I were older, she began to work on her career again, being a slave to the paparazzi and the demanding fans, working long late hours into the night, and wearing herself out. She finally achieved Rock Star status just before she died. I remember how happy she was, but I also remember how tired she looked and how feeble and frail she had become. The music industry gave her fame, and they took it away as well; she died trying to get to a performance. Her first performance as a Rock Star.

I’ll never forget my mother and I’ll make sure my children and grandchildren never forget her, either, even though they’ll never know her. I want her name and legend to be remembered through all of my future generations. I want each and every member of this family to look at her portrait in our dining room and say “That’s Marylee Charm. The woman who created all of this from nothing but a dream.”

Please don’t ever forget my mom. She was an extraordinary person and no matter what happens with my family; no matter how many generations pass, please don’t let her memory fade away with time. Always remember the woman who came to Sunset Valley with nothing but the clothes on her back and a very big dream.

Now, please bow your heads and share your favourite memory of Marylee, my mother, in a comment. That way, whenever you are sad and missing her, like I and the rest of my family always will, you can read back to this tribute and smile as you cherish those moments that made her who she was and shaped both her life and the lives of all her future generations.

Thank you.

