WARNING:

CONTAINS HUGE SPOILERS FOR CHAPTER 12! IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO HAVE THE PLOT REVEALED TO YOU BEFORE YOU READ THE CHAPTER, PLEASE DO NOT READ THIS ANNOUNCEMENT UNTIL YOU HAVE READ CHAPTER TWELVE: FAMILY UPHEAVAL!

THANK YOU!

I feel I owe the people who are fans of this legacy an explanation as to why I decided to break a very obvious and big rule of Pinstar’s Legacy Challenge in Chapter 12.

In the official legacy rules, it clearly states that a player may not use any mod in her or his game which gives her or him an advantage over another player who does not have the mod. The teen pregnancy mod gives a very big advantage over other players without the mod because it gives sims significantly more time to raise her or his child.

I have no qualms with this rule. It is a fair one and I didn’t break it because I had a problem with the rule itself. There are a few reasons as to why I chose to use the teen pregnancy mod in Chapter 12 of The Charm Legacy:

  1. Although I enjoy the challenge of having restricting rules and earning points in the legacy, creating a great story that people will want to read and talk about with others is what brings me the most joy in playing and blogging this legacy. I thought the teen pregnancy mod was a good way to further develop the story seeing as how Marcie did not receive a lot of attention as a child and as a result of that, she is seeking attention from Josiah. I wanted to show how Marcie’s childhood affected the decisions she made as a teenager.
  2. Another reason as to why I chose to use an advantageous mod in my legacy is because Marcie was named as the Charm family heiress at birth, but as she grew older, she developed traits that would make her a very poor heiress to the family estate. I knew that Marylee and Christopher love her too much to strip her of such an honourable title for something mildly to moderately serious, like breaking curfew or getting a D in school. I knew she had to do something terrible to have her title taken away from her, but I could not have her kill someone because she is generally a good-hearted person, just a sarcastic, mouthy teenager. I felt that getting caught up in the heat of the moment and becoming pregnant because of that was the only thing serious enough that would still coincide with her character. (After all, even though Marcie actively detests children, she didn’t plan to conceive a child when she had sex. She was just acting on her impulses).
  3. While I did break the rules of the official legacy for the sake of a good, dramatic, yet believable story, I did try to rectify this as much as I could in terms of adhering to the official rules. While Marcie did have a child as a teenager, she lost her title of heiress because of this, which means that her son will not be able to inherit anything (he couldn’t, anyway, because he’s a boy). Marcie is also no longer able to inherit anything as she is not the heiress anymore. Although Marcie, Josiah and Christopher II could all still earn me points, it doesn’t really make a difference whether these points are earned sooner or later in the game. All of them have the same lifespans as everyone else and Marcie would have had a child eventually, so it’s not like I’m getting extra points. (Honestly, I’m pretty sure Christopher II is the only one she’ll have since she really isn’t fond of children). In that respect, I still tried to make my break of the rules coincide as closely as possible with the rules.

I hope this explanation helps clear some of the confusion surrounding the plot of Chapter 12. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to leave a comment and I will respond to them as quickly as I can.

Thank you and happy simming!

